New Nokia phone launch: How to watch the HMD Global event and what to expect

(Pocket-lint) – HMD Global, the parent brand of Nokia phones, is hosting a new virtual event on Tuesday 22 September 2020.

It is expected to announce at least one new phone – possibly three – with the Nokia 7.3 5G heavily tipped after being spotted on a desk on the set of the new James Bond film, No Time to Die.

Other rumours suggest the long-awaited Nokia 9.3 PureView and, perhaps, a cheaper Nokie 6.3 will also be announced.

Here then are the details on how to watch the event, when it starts, and a little more on what to expect.

When does the HMD Global virtual event start?

The launch event starts at 4pm BST on Tuesday 22 September 2020. Here are the times for your region:

  • US west coast: 8am PDT
  • US east coast: 11am EDT
  • UK: 4pm BST
  • Central Europe: 5pm CEST
  • India: 8.30pm IST
  • China: 11pm CST
  • Australia: 1am AEST (23 September)

When can you watch the HMD Global Nokia event?

We hope to host it right here on Pocket-lint closer the time.

You will also be able to follow it on the Nokia Mobile YouTube channel

What to expect

As we mention above, three phones have been heavily rumoured in recent times, with expectations that they will all release before the end of 2020. It makes sense, therefore, that HMD Global will announce each of them during its virtual event.

THe Nokia 9.3 PureView will be the flagship, which is said to be coming with an innovative five camera setup on the rear.

We have also heard about the Nokia 7.2 5G – not least because it was spotted laying on a desk during a set tour of No Time to Die.

And, the Nokia 6.3 is reported to run on a Qualcomm Snapdragon 675 processor.

We’ll undoubtedly find out more during the event.

Writing by Rik Henderson.


[promo keywords="" brand="" category="" rows="" start=""]