How to watch the FA Cup final 2022

(Pocket-lint) – The men’s and women’s 2022 FA Cup finals will take place on Saturday 14 May and Sunday 15 May respectively.

Chelsea and Liverpool will compete again for a major trophy, after they faced each other earlier this season in the Carabao Cup final. Liverpool won that time, so can Chelsea get revenge?

The Chelsea women’s team also reached their respective final, this time against Manchester City.

Here’s everything you need to know about them, including how to watch both live.

When is the men’s 2022 FA Cup final?

The FA Cup final takes place at Wembley Stadium in London on Saturday 14 May 2022.

What time does the men’s FA Cup final kick off?

It kicks off at 16:45 BST (11:45 EDT / 08:45 PDT). TV programming is likely to start much sooner, however.

Who is the referee in the Chelsea v Liverpool FA Cup final?

Craig Pawson will be the on-pitch referee for the final, with Dan Cook and Edward Smart as pitchside assistants. The video assistant referee (VAR) will be Paul Tierney.

How to watch the FA Cup final on TV

In the UK, the 2022 FA Cup final will be shown for free on both BBC One and ITV.

In the US, you will be able to watch it exclusively on the ESPN+ streaming service. Both English and Spanish commentary will be available.

How to watch the FA Cup final online

As the BBC and ITV share the broadcast rights for the FA Cup final this year, you will be able to watch it live (or catch-up) via BBC iPlayer and ITV Hub.

US viewers will be able to stream it over ESPN+, as detailed above.

Will the FA Cup final be shown in 4K HDR?

Yhe BBC has previously broadcast the final live in 4K HDR on BBC iPlayer, using the hybrid log gamma (HLG) format. It did so in 2019, for example.

However, there has been no confirmation as yet whether it plans to do so again. We’ll update if we hear any more.

ESPN is also yet to confirm the format it plans to stream the final in.

What about the Women’s FA Cup final?

Both the BBC and ESPN+ will screen the Women’s FA Cup final live on TV and online in the UK and US respectively.

The Chelsea vs Manchester City final will also take place at Wembley Stadium, but on Sunday 15 May 2022 with a 14:30 BST kick off time. That’s 09:30 EDT / 06:30 PDT for US viewers.

PC Gaming Week (9 – 13 May) in association with Nvidia GeForce RTX
Whether you are a PC Gaming veteran or a total newbie, we’ve got you covered!
Visit our PC Gaming hub to get all the latest news and reviews, check out some great features and find details of the best products around.
With loads of great content dropping every day, be sure to bookmark the page and come back for your daily fix.

Writing by Rik Henderson. Editing by Chris Hall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.